The “Unbreakable” Bond!

These days there is a big emphasis being placed on getting the best surf wax. People are literally going crazy to find FU Wax from Brazil and companies in other countries are quickly churning out their own versions of sticky wax to combat the future arrival of this top-secret stuff!

It is pretty amusing because on good old WordPress in the administration area, one can see the searches that were done to find your site. One of my stories speaks about getting the wax in Brazil and on occasion I have found “key word searches” such as, “FU Wax Brazil”, “I am going to kill myself if I don’t find FU surf wax”, and “Wife for sale for FU surf wax”. Yup! Pure desperation!

However, in this rush for a grip that will turn the average into Heitor Alves, I am going to give you a tip about something that is long-lost. That is the wax comb.

People often use wax combs to rough up the decks of their boards to add an extra element of traction and grip. A good wax comb can also extend the frequency of not having to wax your board as well. Many companies make their own combs and sell them but truthfully, I use the wax scraper side more than I use the comb itself. Why? Because the space between the teeth is pretty wide and it creates large spaces between the grooves.

Years ago, I was using a wax comb from a popular surf company and a friend told me to try his comb. This is the high-tech comb that he used:

An engineering marvel!

Yes, this is the standard, convenience store comb from Unbreakable. So why use such a comb? Because the teeth are very close together and it will really rough up your deck. The downfalls are that you will have to leave it in your car due to its size and that you have to clean the nasty wax residue off the teeth from time to time. However, they are super cheap so when they become unsightly, it is easier to just buy a new one.

So give it a try along with your ultra-sticky goop wax and watch in amazement as you begin to pull off giant airs! *

*A raise in performance level is only a suggestion of what could happen. You will probably  fall as much as before.

About 1stpeaksteve

Welcome to The Side Wedge! The Side Wedge is a product of the journey through life of Steve Zima. Former professional surfer, a writer, surf coach, and hospitality manager. This is a collection of travel tips, motivation, and stories from my past. Finally, I offer surf coaching through The Side Wedge. Please feel free to contact me with questions if you want to improve your performance today! Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Helpful Stuff and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The “Unbreakable” Bond!

  1. mulletkiller says:

    I used 1stpeaks comb once and I still fell, I want my money back

  2. jjalbertt says:

    I have a question about wax actually, it seems on my board no matter what kind of wax I use it melts off within the fist couple of minutes (however with my friends board hers stays on for days). I’ve used everything from tropical water to a wax for cold water. Whats going on?

    • 1stpeaksteve says:

      That is pretty odd!

      First thing I would do is just take off all the old wax. Then buy 2 bars of wax (Sex Wax base wax or cold water Sex Wax and a bar of sticky wax). Use the Sex Wax base wax (or cold water Sex Wax if they do not have the base wax) first. Wax up the board and then wax over it with the sticky wax. It is going to be soft but will stick like crazy. It should stay on!

      • jjalbertt says:

        Thanks! I never really thought of using the two different kinds.I’ll try it out the next time I’m out. Still doesn’t make sense as to why it sticks on my friends and not mine. Hopefully this works!

      • shai geva says:

        Banana Wax will give the best performance…

  3. shai geva says:

    Banana Wax is available in Australia – http://www.bananawax.com.au

Leave a Reply

