The Surfing Edge in Business

I’m dropping in…so the market must be dropping too!

I do a lot of surfing in the water and I have an interest in business so I surf a lot on the web as well. I enjoy reading other people’s blogs and I have noticed a trend that is interesting to me. Many are using the fact that they are a surfer to prove to their readers that surfing helps them in all facets of their life. It is giving them the surfing edge in business!

This goes against my post(The Great Surfing Disconnect – The Characteristics of a Surfer) from a few weeks back which is about the stereotype of surfers.  https://thesidewedge.wordpress.com/2012/04/28/the-great-surfing-disconnect-the-characteristics-of-a-surfer/

So for some, our almost clairvoyant ability to understand the fluctuations of the sea has become a way to help others read the fluctuations of a business cycle or bring harmony to personal relationships.

As I read these blogs, I began to receive alpha brain wave signals that only a surfer could read. The message that I deciphered was that I must help my fellow surfers out and give them more ways that surfing has helped me in business and in life.

1. Hold on! I am seeing a picture…

I am harnessing the psychic ability of the surfer!

Ok! Surfers are persistent!

Surfing is an unforgiving sport. Many times we get caught on the inside and we just keep going when anyone else would just give up. We have something deep inside of us that allows us to push on when times are not sunny.

2. We relate well with other cultures.

We travel far more than most and we surfers can whip anyone in geography. When I meet a new person, after asking them about their life, I can normally find a common place we have been. This has helped me a million times when I was handling guest service issues.

“Where do you live at?”

I am from New Jersey

“Great! I love Belmar and Point Pleasant! I go there to surf.”

My friend has a house there. We go in the summer.”

Blammo! Instant link.

This works with just about everyone. The earth has a lot of water.

3. We work great under pressure!

The computer just shut off mid-report and the fire alarm is going off as well. You have 3 hours before the big meeting. Well, this is normally where I am the star. When you are getting stung by jellyfish and an 8 foot shark just popped up 20 feet away, it kind of makes losing a report a small deal.

However, with all of these surfer business masters in their pool, the surf industry seems to not make wise business decisions. I will only give one small example and not go into bone-headed business dealings.

1. They sometimes are guilty of confusing being a great surfer with being a great person/job fit.

This is one of my personal favorites. They take their old team rider, Barney “Kookcrusher” McGinnis, and reward him for years of service by making him their product rep. Why not? Barney is friendly and is constantly talking with girls at the industry parties.

So Barney visits the local shops both beachside and inland and hawks the companies wares. Then he goes home to his local break and does his daily routine of cursing at 10-year-old kids, dropping in on non-locals, and making vids of himself pouring beer on his buddies at the local wet t-shirt contest.

Maybe the business is at fault because they did not add “Not being a turd bag” into the job description.

Will surfing give you the edge in business? Who knows. But if you want me to give you business advice and you want to pay me…I am all in!

Better yet, just subscribe to my blog! It’s free and I will not drop in on you at any beach.

About 1stpeaksteve

Welcome to The Side Wedge! The Side Wedge is a product of the journey through life of Steve Zima. Former professional surfer, a writer, surf coach, and hospitality manager. This is a collection of travel tips, motivation, and stories from my past. Finally, I offer surf coaching through The Side Wedge. Please feel free to contact me with questions if you want to improve your performance today! Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Surf Banter and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Surfing Edge in Business

  1. mulletkiller says:

    “Brain waves only a surfer can read” or only a surfer could CATCH would have been more business savvy on your part.

Leave a Reply

