Review of Punt Surf Wax

Punt – What is it?!!?

Since you have to please your audience and I get over two billion hits a day from people searching out FU Surf Wax, I decided to do a short review on Punt. First off, I love Punt wax from Sticky Bumps. However, like using any wax of this sort, it comes with many hidden dangers! Yes, Punt can be a blessing for some but it can also devastate certain aspects of your life if you are not careful. And I do not mean by doing devastating airs.

First off, if you have tried Punt and you hate it…you will hate FU Wax as well. With that being said, many complain about the wax on different forums. Well, if you understand what it is about, it may change your mind.

Do you remember when a product came out called NU Finish? It was for cars. It showed people restoring old junkers to a factory fresh look. Well, people went out and bought it and ended up thoroughly screwing up their cars. Why? Because it was a car polish, not a car wax. So after shinning up their cars, the users of the product were supposed to re-wax their cars making it shine for ages to come.

Punt is not to be used as a bar of wax per se. It is designed to be used over the top of the base coat because it is sticky and it smears. Using it as your main wax usually ends up as a messy disaster. Forget about putting it on a soft top board!

The best way to use it is to buy a specific base coat wax and then after roughing it up with your comb, apply the Punt, FU, or whatever goopy wax you want to use over the base coat. Then you are off to surfing glory.

The Dangers of Punt!

Don’t stare to long at that wax Carl or else you will be toast!

As many can attest, Punt has some hidden dangers. Wax is just plain bad to begin with. Just put a bar in your car on a hot summer day and check out the wonders it will do to your car’s interior. Punt is like wax on steroids. Your hands will get a sticky residue and if you put it in your wax pocket, it will leave a residue in the pocket as well. So the best bet it is to use it and put it a zip-loc bag. Treat it like it is a bar of radioactive sludge!

So that is the low-down on this mutated strain of wax. If you use it sparingly and don’t mind getting some odd residue on your old pair of Katins, then you will be punting like Josh Kerr. …Maybe.

If you have a favorite wax that you like to use…post a comment about it!

About 1stpeaksteve

Welcome to The Side Wedge! The Side Wedge is a product of the journey through life of Steve Zima. Former professional surfer, a writer, surf coach, and hospitality manager. This is a collection of travel tips, motivation, and stories from my past. Finally, I offer surf coaching through The Side Wedge. Please feel free to contact me with questions if you want to improve your performance today! Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Helpful Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Review of Punt Surf Wax

  1. jjalbertt says:

    I normally use Mr.zogs sex wax….Nothing like keeping it simple, it’s sold everywhere in case I run out!

  2. mulletkiller says:

    OH, you know I have to mention Sticky Lips. Especially the blue or Cold Water variety. It left your chest hair looking like a retro neon smuck sign for bad disco night at the club…Bring it back Charlie Baldwin, bring it back

    • 1stpeaksteve says:

      Who made that stuff anyway? Charlie did not have a hand at creating it, did he?

      Ahhhhhhhhhhhhh…Bad Disco night. You pulled out a good one from the old memory vault!

  3. mulletkiller says:

    CB Bought the licences from, get this a Brazilian company. hmmm. Maybe like most dealings with CB they got shafted and came up with FU. I might be on to something.

  4. mayzie says:

    Does punt damage a wetsuit?

    • 1stpeaksteve says:

      Personally, I have never had any damage from it on my wetsuit. I would be careful with it in your car though. Put it in a bag because it can get warm and it will stick to the upholstery and cd cases, paper work, or whatever it can get onto.

  5. Well I made it through THANKS GIVING!…. Without my family, because my knee got so infected I was hospitalized. All I want to know is where was the wax was made (china),(japan)!!!????? And are any of the ingredients different from your regular wax!? Because it fucked me up bad! And I missed waves this whole week .,and considering where I live thats huge. Oh and I do have to work for a living!

  6. 1stpeaksteve says:

    That sucks and I am sorry to hear you had a reaction like that. Seriously, I have never heard of that happening. I have heard of it messing up a car’s upholstery though.

    Btw, I am in no way associated with Wax Research or Sticky Bumps. Just a regular old surfer who uses this wax because you stick to your board like a mammoth in a tar pit! I would contact them if you have questions.

    Once again…hope you are back in the water soon and let me know what caused it.

Leave a Reply

