My Fantasy Surfer Picks For the 2013 Quicksilver Pro

They could have put Tiago's face on the banner! Bwa ha ha!

They could have put Tiago’s face on the banner! Bwa ha ha!

That time again! Time for my 2 cents on the Quickie Pro and who I am putting on my team for Fantasy Surfer.

I can’t let Shea Lopez get all the glory, you know.

My Team:

Taj Burrow

Mick Fanning

Jordy Smith

John Florence

Dusty Payne

Adam Melling

Dane Reynolds

Nat Young

The Breakdown

Taj Burrow – I really am not banking on Taj winning because he has won so many times before. My thinking is that he will at least make the quarters.

Joel Parkinson and Kelly Slater – I am not counting either of these two out at all. Joel just costs to much money right now.

Mick Fanning – Mick along with Taj could potentially be my winner. Mick’s form is on par with last year which means he is killing it.

Jordy Smith and Dane Reynolds – Jordy has come off of an un-Jordy like 2012 season but to write this guy off would be foolish. I am going out on a limb after watching a ton of videos that between Dane and Jordy, the two of them are consistently doing the best free surfing at the moment. Last year, Dane put in a pretty solid effort in only a handful of events and was in the top 50 of the One World Rankings. Basically, if he entered a few more events he would have re-qualified. Having Dane in the event might just wake up the slumbering giant.

The rest of my team are long shots at best. Adam Melling has always had the potential for greatness so we will see how he goes at Snapper.

Solid Choices

If you want some others to put into your mix, I would think of these guys:

Julian Wilson

Owen Wright

Josh Kerr

All are in blistering form.

Cheap Pick of the Week:

Matt Wilkinson

Well, in a short time we will see if my team kicked some okole or if they tanked.

Any thoughts are welcome!

(Here comes some nonsense from Mullet Killer)

About 1stpeaksteve

Welcome to The Side Wedge! The Side Wedge is a product of the journey through life of Steve Zima. Former professional surfer, a writer, surf coach, and hospitality manager. This is a collection of travel tips, motivation, and stories from my past. Finally, I offer surf coaching through The Side Wedge. Please feel free to contact me with questions if you want to improve your performance today! Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Surf Contests and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Fantasy Surfer Picks For the 2013 Quicksilver Pro

  1. mulletkiller says:

    Here’s your nonsensical statement, Hater.

    I see two weak links in your picks Mick Fanning and Taj Burrow. No just kidding but I do question Dusty Pain and Nat Young. I love them both but Dusty can’t make a heat (all in his head) and Nat though obviously he has a great backside approach yet lacks experience on the big screen unlike some of his fellow “rookies”

    For what it’s worth here’s what I’m throwing down.
    Kelly (staying true to the old fart) I’m 40yrs old now as well…. ouch.

    J-Dub (coming off a solid result and looked fresh and spicy)

    Jordy (It’s his year to contend)

    Owen (best backhand on tour. Hands down, well since Heitor’s gone, there I said it)

    SeaBass (Power, Flow, Competitive and Cheap)

    Brother (I haven’t lost faith, the kid just needs be smart. Maybe 1stpeaks twin bro isn’t working out after all)

    And of Coarse the “Wild Card” Dane ( He’s just plain talented and revels in playing the spoiler)

  2. 1stpeaksteve says:

    I question them too…I have to see how the heat draw winds up. Nat could be toast against one of the top seeds. He will have to surf on his backhand which could be good for him.

    Dusty will be fired up though. He is like Pat G. though…bad luck central. When he can keep it together, he has taken down a few of the big guys.

    They are both huge gambles.

Leave a Reply

