Collecting

I need more! More! More!

I need more! More! More!

I was listening to National Public Radio the other night and during the course of one of the radio shows, a guest speaker came on and spoke about collecting goods. The speaker stated that she found it funny that during our youth when we need or could use things; we never have it. As we grow older, we collect more things than what we could use. The guest speaker had a strange idea and it was that once you hit 50, you had to give something to someone in their youth if you did not need it and you had to give out more as your age progressed. Pretty radical idea!

Right now, I am in a situation that does not make a lot of sense to people. The closest way to describe it is that I am starving in the grocery store. The grocery store is full of products. To much to eat in fact for one person. But if you do not have the money to buy the products; then you can only stare and slowly starve.

One thing that I do have is surfboards. Lots of them. In corners…on the floors. Some only ridden for a while and then put into storage. I really wanted to keep some of them because I had an idea on a project which I could use them but now that the project will have to be put on hold so they have become home decor.

What is Fair?

I wrote something one day on my Facebook page about adversity. Basically it was about how the biggest statement we can make in regards to our personal morality is how we conduct ourselves when we are down. Desperation causes many to steal, cheat, or to try to get a head by crawling over the backs of others.

I knew what I had to do.

A Customer or More?

Before the age of catering to the shareholder, businesses used to look at the customer as a bit more than income. They realized that they were a connection. You did something good and they would come and maybe even bring a friend.

So I must report that I have been getting a lot of text messages from the guy who I sold the surfboard too. He just broke his board and is home from college. He is stoked on my former board and says it rides even better than his previous board from a major company from California. He is already talking about getting a custom board of his own once he gets up some funds.

He gained a new board in tough times for a price far below what he would have paid at a surf shop.

I gained a small amount of cash to push me through to the next week.

My shaper earned a customer.

Even my surfboard won because it will be used now by someone who needs it.

Being ethical pays off to everyone instead of only one party gaining the profit.

About 1stpeaksteve

Welcome to The Side Wedge! The Side Wedge is a product of the journey through life of Steve Zima. Former professional surfer, a writer, surf coach, and hospitality manager. This is a collection of travel tips, motivation, and stories from my past. Finally, I offer surf coaching through The Side Wedge. Please feel free to contact me with questions if you want to improve your performance today! Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Helpful Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Collecting

  1. Jessica says:

    Great post. I couldn’t agree more. When we are down is the time our true character shows. It’s a good thing to help others any time, and we always profit from doing so, too… Good for you!

  2. gina4star says:

    I’m imagining the photo of the trainers but with surfboards! (They’re not your trainers are they?!) Totally agree with the connection, it’s like a karma chain of goodness! 🙂

Leave a Reply

