From the Scrapbook

Recently I dug up some old photos. The surfing is a bit dated but it is kind of interesting to see what surfing in the 1980’s to the mid-1990’s was all about.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbHLate evening with a not so common winter south swell at Second Light. I was on my 5’6″ winged keel hull.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbHSame session a bit later. Waves still running off and I was staying small to ride the little barrels.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbHAfter watching Gary Elkerton in The Performers and Surf into Summer…I became obsessed with the old “Larry Layback”.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbHMy favorite way to burn off speed back in the day.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbHOne of the only surf photos I have ever taken of someone else. Tom Carrol I guess is a good subject to start with.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbHTrying to be a bit dramatic in the shorebreak.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbHSqueezing in a turn on a small wave.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbHI have often said that you should always surf in a three foot square close to the breaking part of the wave.

Practicing what I preach in Cocoa Beach!

With that…post #100 has been reached!

Thanks everyone!

About 1stpeaksteve

Welcome to The Side Wedge! The Side Wedge is a product of the journey through life of Steve Zima. Former professional surfer, a writer, surf coach, and hospitality manager. This is a collection of travel tips, motivation, and stories from my past. Finally, I offer surf coaching through The Side Wedge. Please feel free to contact me with questions if you want to improve your performance today! Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Surf Banter and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to From the Scrapbook

  1. Jess says:

    Cool pics! And congrats on 100. Did you mean to make those last few lines rhyme? Because it totally works 🙂

    • 1stpeaksteve says:

      I actually did not. Then I was re-reading it and saw you it was all rhyming and I pictured Mohammed Ali giving it as a speech and I said to myself that it was a keeper!

  2. Jessica says:

    Awesome! Fun to see photos of you in your element. And fun to look back, eh? Also, I agree with Jess. The rhyme worked! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  3. Share more of this stuff steve! Classic.

    • 1stpeaksteve says:

      I am trying to put together some real old Super 8 film that I took around some contests when I was a grom. There is some old stuff of some old pros and Kelly when he was in the Boys division.

      Also, look at my posts called “A Night at the Museum” and “Return to the Museum” and check out the old stuff I have collected. Lots of brands that are out of business. Funny stuff!

Leave a Reply

