The Surfers for Autism Beach Festival 2013

SFA-logo-722253_307x195

As I posted last week, I attended the Surfers for Autism Beach Festival held at my local surf spot which is the one and only, Ponce Inlet. It was quite the event to say the least. There were around 200 children participating along with the volunteers. Mix this in with the families and photographers and you can only imagine the size of the crowd. But the organization really has their act together and things ran very smoothly.

Preparation

Or lack there of…

I have attended the Life Rolls On events which helped disabled people enjoy a day of a surfing but I never had the chance to attend a Surfers for Autism event. So I planned out my trip to help the children. Being a local at Ponce Inlet, one would think I would have thought out things such as shade for the down times but I did not. I also had the brilliant idea of working until close at my job and then getting a few hours of sleep.

Where were you Mr. Sandman?

I tossed and turned. I thought of the event. I mulled the details. Then the alarm rang and with a sliver of sleep under my belt; I zipped off for the inlet.

Pictures Paint a Thousand Words

So here is the event!

SAS6

The kids painted some vehicles which they loved!

SAS1

I worked with this little guy. Great kid!

SAS!

A good measure of the crowd size!

A good measure of the crowd size!

Having fun!

Having fun!

Where's Steve you ask? There I am! With the black hat on cheering my student on to surfing glory!

Where’s Steve you ask? There I am! With the black hat on cheering my student on to surfing glory!

I can’t wait for the next one!

And I will be better prepared with a tent and some water!

If you want to know more about the organization then please check them out here!

http://surfersforautism.org/

About 1stpeaksteve

Welcome to The Side Wedge! The Side Wedge is a product of the journey through life of Steve Zima. Former professional surfer, a writer, surf coach, and hospitality manager. This is a collection of travel tips, motivation, and stories from my past. Finally, I offer surf coaching through The Side Wedge. Please feel free to contact me with questions if you want to improve your performance today! Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in General, Helpful Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Surfers for Autism Beach Festival 2013

  1. mulletkiller says:

    Good on ya Mate, Is it wrong of me to squint to see the rock bowl in frame 5?

Leave a Reply

