Old School Skating

I started skateboarding before I surfed. There were lots of places to ride in Hawaii. Ditches, ramps, and bowls galore.

When I moved after my father retired, I was thankful that we ended up at a mecca for skating.

Here are some super old shots:

ps_2013_11_08___13_55_22

The Crazy Gutter

ps_2013_11_08___13_56_03

Me doing a cess slide at the Crazy Gutter

Nose grab at the Bone Town Gutter

Nose grab at the Bone Town Gutter

Grinding the top at Bone Town

Grinding the top at Bone Town

My buddy Adam at the Rinker Gutter.

My buddy Adam at the Rinker Gutter.

Cess sliding at a local ramp. What a narrow ramp!

Cess sliding at a local ramp. What a narrow ramp!

Getting the back foot back on.

Getting the back foot back on.

Foot plant at the Crazy Gutter

Foot plant at the Crazy Gutter

Backside ollie

Backside ollie

I haven’t skated in years but I still like to watch some of the incredible things the kids are doing now. Maybe one day I will get back on a board and amaze some kids when they see me do a daffy.

About 1stpeaksteve

Welcome to The Side Wedge! The Side Wedge is a product of the journey through life of Steve Zima. Former professional surfer, a writer, surf coach, and hospitality manager. This is a collection of travel tips, motivation, and stories from my past. Finally, I offer surf coaching through The Side Wedge. Please feel free to contact me with questions if you want to improve your performance today! Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in General, Surf Banter and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Old School Skating

  1. Jessica says:

    Love the old photos. Very impressive! I could NEVER do that.

  2. Jess says:

    I love the striped tube socks and short shorts haha.

  3. lyttlestreet says:

    Bustin some big moves did you ever skate the place they called Uluwatu. Remember seeing it in an old 70s movie.

    • 1stpeaksteve says:

      Never skated that ditch. I did skate one called “Wallos” but I think that one is now gone too. There were a few good gutters in Hawaii so it provided some fun on the days we could not get to the other side of the island when it was flat.

Leave a Reply

