Sneaky Mom and her Sneaky Trick!

As a child, I was diagnosed with "Deweyism"

As a child, I was diagnosed with “Deweyism”

Growing up, it was widely known that I had some slight health issues as a boy. Nothing too crazy. I mean, I was scrawnier than the other kids but not in a freakish elf sort of way. My coordination was not that great either. I was not the kid that everyone instantly wanted on their team during P.E.

At some point of my life, my mother delivered a shocking story to my young ears.

“When you were an infant, you were very sick. Your lungs are not healthy at all. There is a lot of scar tissue and it can be inflamed. NEVER SMOKE!!! You will end up in the emergency room!!

Yikes!!!

On this day my  world forever changed. The man rudely smoking three feet away was no longer just a rude ass; this man was an assassin! I always had to ensure that I was in a well ventilated area to ensure that I was not going to wind up on a ventilator.

The Wild Life!

Was it worth it Mr. Zima? You should have listened to your mother!

Was it worth it Mr. Zima? You should have listened to your mother!

As I grew older and entered my teen age years, the world became far more sinister.

Pass the bong to John…

I handled it like it was radioactive.

“Sure you don’t want to try a hit?”

“Are you trying to kill me! …yeah! right!”

My trips to the clubs in the 80’s and 90’s and to shows like The Grateful Dead were down right torturous.

Lunch Time Banter

My mom was eating her egg sandwich when she  stopped and made an announcement.

“Remember the lung problem you have? I just made that up. I did not want you to start smoking.”

I had to laugh.

Thanks Mom!

ps_2013_11_08___13_22_37

Oddly enough, my mom smoked through a portion of my life and later she passed away from cancer. Although her method might have been  a bit extreme, she did not want to see her son doomed to being a slave to a company that kills your health. Huddled in the smoking area on a freezing day trying to frantically satisfy some demand before going back to work. She wanted to spare me from the issues she faced herself.

My mom might have been a bit extreme but as a parent you have to do some extreme things at times.

Thanks mom!

About 1stpeaksteve

Welcome to The Side Wedge! The Side Wedge is a product of the journey through life of Steve Zima. Former professional surfer, a writer, surf coach, and hospitality manager. This is a collection of travel tips, motivation, and stories from my past. Finally, I offer surf coaching through The Side Wedge. Please feel free to contact me with questions if you want to improve your performance today! Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

