New Years Resolution – Feel the Magic

Cheesy

Thanks to “The Wonderful Burt Wonderstone” for giving us that feeling of magic!

Goals of the Year!

New Years brings loads of new goals for the year. In order to be successful, they always say to make these goals something tangible such as to bake a 15 foot pizza or to lose 6 pounds and 3 ounces. That way you have something solid to work for and you can break it down to smaller chunks.

Along with my tangible goals, I have something very abstract on the list that can’t be broken down to a number or period of time.

What Makes You Tick?

When I took the plunge into being a rather ill-prepared professional athlete; I had to learn a very important tool to help me along. That tool was the self-assessment and it helps me to this day.

During one of my periods of self assessment, I started to see a terrible pattern that took hold of me in my youth. When I first started surfing contests, I did it because I loved to compete but I did not know anyone I was surfing against because I was new to the area. So I paddled out and just surfed and I did very well. At some point, I knew everyone I was surfing against and then a bad pattern set in. When I was surfing against someone who was a name surfer; my ego would kick in and I would give the heat 100% of my focus to win or do well. When my heat had lower rated guys in it, my level of caring would drop dramatically. This set up a bad precedent for me. Surfing was fun for me but it also became about doing something. Catching the biggest wave. Doing something to shock the crowd. Making the others look bad. Surfing to do something big in front of Mullet Killer (my friend Scott). Without the big pay off; I floundered.

Tool

Going further off on a tangent, I was listening to an interview the other day from Maynard Keenan, who is the singer of the rock band, Tool. One part of the interview really resonated with me.

Maynard stated that when he created the band, that he did not create the band with the idea of making money. He said that people that put money as their carrot to follow in life will only create crap. Maynard went on to explain that there has to be a belief in the magic of what you are creating.

This is why you can see a movie and tell that it was a sequel created to make some money or that a band churned out a song in a studio with a giant production team with the idea to create a super hit. The end result is crap.

Feeling the Magic

I vow to no longer surf through a boulder filled surf spot to satisfy my ego...I will do it because it is fun!

I vow to no longer surf through a boulder filled surf spot to satisfy my ego…I will do it because it is fun!

In my last post about the new year, I wrote about my second to the last wave. I wrote about how frustrating the session was in the water and during this time in the water I had to stop several times and just reflect upon how nice it was to be there. When the wave came, I already knew what was going to happen and my mind just told me the steps to do before hand. All I thought about was the simple steps and like magic it unfolded.

So that is my resolution for the year. I will always have that competitive side to me and there is nothing wrong with that. However, my goal is to replace the carrot of doing something big in order to win or to get attention and make the carrot about doing something great for the magic of being able to do it. If I do this every time then winning will come with it. If not, who cares! You are doing something that makes you happy!

About 1stpeaksteve

Welcome to The Side Wedge! The Side Wedge is a product of the journey through life of Steve Zima. Former professional surfer, a writer, surf coach, and hospitality manager. This is a collection of travel tips, motivation, and stories from my past. Finally, I offer surf coaching through The Side Wedge. Please feel free to contact me with questions if you want to improve your performance today! Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Helpful Stuff, Surf Banter and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to New Years Resolution – Feel the Magic

  1. Jessica says:

    That’s a really great thought, Steve. It’s something I have to remind myself about, too. No, I’m not super competitive in any one sport, but I *am* super competitive with myself. I can remember countless outings on a water ski when I was SO mad at myself for not getting all six slalom course buoys at 30+ miles an hour. Never mind that I only water ski a handful of times every year… But it took all of the fun out of it for me… I guess I am a little competitive on my bike, too. I get proud when I can kick family members’ butts going up a hill. But that’s not the right attitude to have…

    I’m sure you’re an awesome surfer, and I’m so glad you have that talent. But you’re right to try to do it for you and to stop worrying about everyone else! Great resolution!

    • 1stpeaksteve says:

      Thanks and it is good to do things for the right reasons. At work, I never care about accolades. But games and sports…forget it! I take it a bit to seriously. Not being a poor sport mind you but basing the outcome of how well I do completely dictate if I am enjoying myself. Like you and the water skiing.

      Time to have fun and enjoy it!

  2. jjalbertt says:

    I wish everyone understood this, the world would be a much better place if everyone did it for love and not for money or to “show off”.
    Great resolution I say.

  3. gina4star says:

    This makes so much sense! I love this as a resolution, to do things for you and for the right reasons, and ultimately to be happy! I very much enjoyed reading this! šŸ™‚

  4. landonkb says:

    I think that is an excellent resolution. Most of my favorite days surfing I’m totally alone in the water and just enjoying it.

    Sidenote: surfing through boulders are fun! I liked your shot.

Leave a Reply

