Foreshadowing

When I was around 3 or 4, my parents took me to Sunset Beach to watch one of the events. Who knew that this would become my life at a later point.

After I entered my first event, my life warped off to some strange reality of travel, sitting in a van for hours, 5 minute warnings, and jerseys. Oh, I can’t forget a wardrobe of awful contest shirts loaded with sponsors and cheesy airbrushed waves too.

But, there were lots of great people I met as these ancient photos show:

My friend John Ubbink, Dick Catri, and myself

My friend John Ubbink, Dick Catri, and myself

Dick Catri is one of the guys that put surfers from the East Coast of the United States on the map and he is a friend of my father. Dick owned one of the key surf shops in the area and even got Kelly Slater going in the right direction as a pint-sized lad.

Surf Expo with Greg Taylor

Surf Expo with Greg Taylor. What am I doing???

Greg Taylor (the tall cat on the right) is a guy I really owe a lot to. Greg was one of the old Ocean Avenue Surf Shop team riders who was part of a group of east coasters that pre-dated my crew. Greg took me from  floundering and confused grom to well-sponsored, confused surfer. In his defense, he did a lot for me. I pretty much owe almost all the best sponsorships I had to him. He even gave me driving tips as a grom!

“Just go!” “It is only 20 feet to cross the street!”

Shaun Tomson

Shaun Tomson

I am trying to find my more candid pictures of my time surfing with Peter Townend, Larry Bertleman, Shaun Tomson, and Rabbit Bartholomew. These guys were more than cool to me and actually gave me advice and let me sit around with them during the events.

Believe me, you feel more than cool when you are strolling out to catch a few waves with Peter Townend next to you.

John Ubbink, Peter Townend, and myself

John Ubbink, Peter Townend, and myself

Hanging out.

Pat Cuyno's birthday

Pat Cuyno’s birthday

This is my fail picture. Why? Because I graciously took it thus I was not in the picture myself.

Pat Cuyno is a family friend who is also from my home town of Ewa Beach, Hawaii. It was Pat’s birthday so Peter Townend and Larry Bertleman were nice enough to drop by and eat some food and give Pat his present…a new board.

Dick Catri is also in there too along with Ron Rosenberry who had a little surf shop up on the old pier.

Well, there are other artifacts buried in my museum and I am seeking them out so hopefully more will be posted to document the age of dinosaurs!

About 1stpeaksteve

Welcome to The Side Wedge! The Side Wedge is a product of the journey through life of Steve Zima. Former professional surfer, a writer, surf coach, and hospitality manager. This is a collection of travel tips, motivation, and stories from my past. Finally, I offer surf coaching through The Side Wedge. Please feel free to contact me with questions if you want to improve your performance today! Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Surf Contests, Surf Banter and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Foreshadowing

  1. Jessica says:

    This is so so cool, Steve. Do you have any videos of you surfing? You should post those, if you do!! I was never good enough at any particular sport or instrument, etc. to have ever hung out with celebrities like you. If I’d grown up in Florida I might have honed in more on my water-skiing abilities, though. I love water skiing. It takes a lot of dedication to get really good at a sport… You are awesome.

    • 1stpeaksteve says:

      I do have some but they on VHS tapes. So I have to go through the process of transferring them.

      For being a decent person at my sport, I rarely get pictures taken of me. I surf at a popular spot but sit in a spot that is harder to ride…thus, fewer pictures.

Leave a Reply

