Time Gone By

 

Anta

 

I logged into my account and saw a strange icon in the notification section and opened it. Basically it stated that The Side Wedge just turned three years old and congratulations!

Three years ago on a June morning, I was a person who was not very happy. In fact, I would say that I was confused and desperate. I was unemployed and job lead after job lead was going nowhere. I was going to interviews. Sometimes 4 or 5 at the same company. Meeting one person on the chain of command after another. Only to get to the end and to get second place.

So I even tried to just apply for a simple job with the same awful results.

You need to be applying for this other job…the manager job; not the entry-level job! This resulted to the same long cycle of interviews and then nothing.

That morning in June three years ago, I just stopped myself and sat on the floor. The anniversary of the passing of my mother came and went. I was completely lost. But for once, I thought to myself in regards to what would make me happy. Of course, surfing came into the picture. Then I thought about how much I loved to write. I started searching around the internet and came up with the idea of creating a blog. I researched the sites and concluded that WordPress was the way to go.

So I entered the world of blogging. At first I posted only a few times and stopped. I was still searching for employment and I had a hard time creating a post that meant something to me. I was worried more about what people would think. The result was that I had some views and then zero views for several months after that. Then I began to think about myself and my life and experiences. I could just regurgitate what was going on in the surfing world or I could write things from my perspective. So I knuckled down and wrote what made me happy and ended the year with 318 whopping views! I know…amazing stats!

So what has this whole experience done for me?

Well, I did get to write a guest post for another site which was great! Has it brought money or anything like that? Nope. But I have met a lot of great people and it has made me enjoy writing even more.

When an artist picks up his paint and canvas, he does not think to himself what will make him the most money. He does what makes him feel something. What happens beyond that is its own entity.

So here is to another year of pounding the keyboard!

 

 

About 1stpeaksteve

Welcome to The Side Wedge! The Side Wedge is a product of the journey through life of Steve Zima. Former professional surfer, a writer, surf coach, and hospitality manager. This is a collection of travel tips, motivation, and stories from my past. Finally, I offer surf coaching through The Side Wedge. Please feel free to contact me with questions if you want to improve your performance today! Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Time Gone By

  1. John DiNardo says:

    Congratulations! Three years!
    I’m still contemplating what to write about. I don’t want 48 years of surfing, all over the place, and all that occurred along with it, to just go to waste.
    So, if it means anything, you’ve inspired me to document the life of a surfer through my eyes.
    I probably won’t start until winter because I’m living in New Jersey now.
    Anyway, thanks for the inspiration, and the entertainment, I do read some of your posts, they’re great and some bring back memories of long ago, when living was easy. (yes I know, I stole it)

  2. 1stpeaksteve says:

    Ha ha! Thanks John! My advice is to just do like I did. As you can see, I stopped doing the picks for Fantasy Surfer. Shea does them and everyone else and they are so unpredictable these days. I just want to write about my experiences and some contest stuff but in a different light than just writing to pick John John and pick Kelly.

    So with your experiences, you should do the same. 48 years has to bring back a lot of stories along with your involvement with the sport.

    When you take the plunge…let me know. Thanks for being one of the long timers checking out my site too.

    P.S. I am sad you have not stolen my dumb pics for your avatar in a long time! My resolution is to find more ridiculous photos!
    Have a great weekend!

  3. Blair says:

    congrats, dude!

Leave a Reply

