Dirty Deeds & my Brother Scott!

pday

I frequently comment about my oddball life. Sometimes I mull about writing a book(s) but I struggle with the idea of how to break up the segments of everything I have seen and done. Should one be about my surfing? Where should I fit in the time we stayed in a fort in the woods along a busy highway and terrorized hobos? Big issues to ponder I guess…

I have written a few tales in my site about my adventures in travel. Most of these accounts are short and barely scratch the surface of what we did. Of course one wants to just present a short tale and not bore anyone with a 200 page essay of a trip. That would be cruel!

Here are a few of the tales:

https://thesidewedge.wordpress.com/2013/01/30/champaigne-dreams-and-the-goat-cheese-reality/

This is my story about a trip to Barbados for a surf contest.

https://thesidewedge.wordpress.com/2012/03/30/the-north-shore-story-what-a-long-strange-trip-its-been/

Another trip to California. Not much happened here beyond taking in a wandering kid, attending a movie premiere, surfing with top pros, and living for 2 months on $800.

As of the last six months, I have had several people chime in at a party or on social media with one of those “Remember That Time we Did This?” stories. Within the first sentences, the memories came flooding back and as an adult with responsibilities; these stories seem a bit funny yet they also show how much I have grown as a person. Believe me…I have grown a lot!

This tale will illustrate the lengths my friends and I would go through to pull something off.

Picture This!

The flyer circulated around the classroom. For those whom may have missed their chance at having their yearbook picture taken; retakes will be conducted next Monday.

My brain buzzed. Those kids who get their pictures taken will miss part of their class and my second period class sucks! Man, those kids are lucky!

I turned to my friend Billy.

Bill! We should get our pictures taken again! We will miss part of the class. We should see if they let us in the line.

Billy only took a few moments to decide that this would be a good idea.

Sometime between this day and our actual visit to the photographers, plans were hashed out and more friends jumped on board. By the morning of picture day, we had decided that we did not want to possibly mess up our previous photos. We looked fine! So why not be someone else???

Say Cheese!

Hello Mr. Zima!

I smiled at the teacher and told him of my plan to get a better picture for the yearbook. It is very important to look good you know. As I meandered by him, I had that fist pump feeling because one major obstacle was down. I was given the form which I  eagerly filled out. A few minutes later:

Hello Mr. Young! Here to get your photo taken?

I smiled big.

As I got up, the assistant called out. Come on up Bon! Bon…that is an unusual name!

The Big Day!

Yearbook day is pretty important. The school was buzzing and kids were eager to have their classmates scrawl notes about keeping touch through the summer. But another buzz was circulating around the school hallways.

There in the junior class section was Angus and Malcom Young, Phil Rudd, Bon Scott, and of course Cliff Williams. Otherwise known collectively as AC/DC!

For those about to rock…Fiiiiiire!!

So what do you think would happen the next year??

Part 2 will reveal this!

About 1stpeaksteve

Welcome to The Side Wedge! The Side Wedge is a product of the journey through life of Steve Zima. Former professional surfer, a writer, surf coach, and hospitality manager. This is a collection of travel tips, motivation, and stories from my past. Finally, I offer surf coaching through The Side Wedge. Please feel free to contact me with questions if you want to improve your performance today! Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Surf Banter and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

