Legacy of Stoke

LegacyofStoke

Legacy of Stoke is a collection of stories about the men and women who shared their love of the ocean with us. It is a campfire built in the sand where we revel in the tales of the people we have taught to surf and those who have taught us.

Volume One includes stories by Austin Ware, Charlie Paradise, Froza Kaluhiokalani, Karen Shatafian, Katherine Hall, Kim Byrne, Klaude Kimura, Rebecca Heller, Richard Prause, Shane Lasby, Steven Zima and Vail Duggan.

The Back Story

A while back, I stumbled upon an opportunity to write about my life story for a book. Is it the defining story? The reality is that the story is a short glimpse into certain segments of my past. It is like visiting Epcot and deciding if you have traveled the world. You are only getting tiny slices of the story to form a greater narrative.

However, the story skims over my childhood and my poor physical shape, the great guy, Lou Bell, who got me into surfing and my later ventures into competition surfing. It speaks of my father and his help and my almost near-fatal bout with meningitis that left me out of the water and daily life for a while.

Legacy of Stoke is now on Amazon and I am actually looking forward to sitting down and reading the stories shared by the other surfers.

Aloha!

Steve

Stumble It!

About 1stpeaksteve

Welcome to The Side Wedge! The Side Wedge is a product of the journey through life of Steve Zima. Former professional surfer, a writer, surf coach, and hospitality manager. This is a collection of travel tips, motivation, and stories from my past. Finally, I offer surf coaching through The Side Wedge. Please feel free to contact me with questions if you want to improve your performance today! Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Helpful Stuff, Surf Banter and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

