Four Years

LOURO2011

Photo of the wonderful Louro José via Mais Voce!

Yesterday I opened WordPress and saw a notification. I opened it and saw a message from WordPress which congratulated me on 4 years with this blog. Seeing this written out kind of put me in shock to be honest.

6 years ago, things were going great for me. I had a job that was like gold to me and I was coasting towards retirement. Then at some point, there was a hostile take over of the company and the board. This started a huge ripple effect that would eventually lead to a early morning in which I was asked to ride with one of my managers to Human Resources which was not uncommon because we did work in the building. However, on this day at 6:45 a.m., the parking lot was bustling. I knew something bad was on the way.

By the time this day happened, I had met my now fiance and my father had passed on leaving me with a 4 bedroom house inland of the coast. After the shock wore off, I became confident that in no time I would be at a new place of employment. I had made countless friends who had moved on and I always did well in the interviews. So I started a new routine. I surfed and I filled out applications for work. Lots of surfing! Lots and lots of countless applications.

For a while, things were not bad. I was getting interviews but for some reason another candidate was chosen. Sometimes I would get 6 interviews in one company! I would lay out my plan and the management team would gush about how much they like my ideas and enthusiasm; then they would not call back.

Then reality started to hit me. With every bill paid, I watched my nest egg dwindle. For the first time in ages, I began to feel desperate. I had to do something!

Then one day after spending hours researching and updating my resume for the 30th time, I wrote out a list that I wanted to use to guide me to happiness. Even if it found me living in a tent. I wanted to help people be better off and I wanted to write again. During my research, I found a place offering screening for free to help improve your interview skills and to critique your job search skills.

I arrived in the office and went back and began to lay out my pitch to the counselor. Finally, he leaned back in his chair and told me…Well, everything looks good. I would hire you! It is the economy. Just wait.

JUST WAIT!! I AM GOING UNDER LIKE THE TITANIC!!

I left the office dejected. On the way out, I saw a sign looking for volunteers. Why not? I might as well do something to make myself feel useful.

That moment led to me volunteering for over 2 years at Christian Help. During this time, I helped people with low computer skills navigate the maze of the hiring process that we face today. At first, I was only volunteering but after I found employment, I would volunteer in the morning before work which I got out at 1 a.m. A very tiring day but worth the experience and knowing I was helping people change their lives for the better by getting back into the workforce.

The other thing on the list was to write again.

Thus, this blog was born. Born to rescue me from a pit of despair.

Sometimes this blog was written after a day at the beach in which I was so grateful to be in the water. On many other occasions, the stories were written to not only help my readers but they were also written so I could feel positive enough to get through the low periods.

Happy Birthday to The Side Wedge! It has been a long, tough 4 years and hopefully the future will bring brighter opportunities.

About 1stpeaksteve

Welcome to The Side Wedge! The Side Wedge is a product of the journey through life of Steve Zima. Former professional surfer, a writer, surf coach, and hospitality manager. This is a collection of travel tips, motivation, and stories from my past. Finally, I offer surf coaching through The Side Wedge. Please feel free to contact me with questions if you want to improve your performance today! Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Helpful Stuff, Surf Banter and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Four Years

  1. Congrats and happy blog anniversary. It takes a lot to carry on blogging but it’s a great journal thanks for sharing.

  2. Hi Steve! Happy Blogiversary! Four years is a long time––congratulations! I’m sorry you’ve had it so rough. It’s scary when you’re out of work and you only have yourself to count on. I’m glad things are working out. All the best! 😀 xx

Leave a Reply

