Heading Towards Home

Kaiskate

Today I attended a memorial service for an old departed friend. It was being held at a beachside town where I used to spend a lot of time but I must say that my feet had not touched the water there in countless years.

When I go into detail about my youth, I always start with Hawaii. It was my one and only home for years. We did move to Virginia for a few years when I was very young but long before I even thought of surfing we had packed up and moved back. Then we moved to Florida and my life changed.

I guess I began to lead a double life.

I remember one great swell and I was skateboarding by my house. A few of the skaters looked sad.

The waves are great today someone spoke…and we are missing it.

The waves are great I said. It was a really good day today. The other skaters wondered what I meant.

Did you go surfing today?

Of course!

So this was my life. Split between friends who lived miles apart. A lot of driving!

Welcome Home!

In the past few months I have heard this mentioned several times and yet, each time it was from someone cities…even continents apart.

Tchoko

My home is in Brazil. Where I can wait for my wife to finish work and play with my dog.

ps_2015_03_23___13_22_32

My home is in Florida with my family and my house.

boyz

My home is in Hawaii.

So I might not be able to pick a favorite but to answer the person today…

Yes…it is nice to be home.

About 1stpeaksteve

Welcome to The Side Wedge! The Side Wedge is a product of the journey through life of Steve Zima. Former professional surfer, a writer, surf coach, and hospitality manager. This is a collection of travel tips, motivation, and stories from my past. Finally, I offer surf coaching through The Side Wedge. Please feel free to contact me with questions if you want to improve your performance today! Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Surf Banter and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Heading Towards Home

  1. Jessica says:

    I know that feeling. It’s nice to feel at home in more than one home… That happens when you travel and live in more than once place. I keep meaning to write a post about it. Thanks for the reminder. I’m so sorry about your friend. Keep your chin up!

    • 1stpeaksteve says:

      I am actually a-OK. She passed away after having a few wonderful days and there was an event for her after her funeral and I saw so many people that I have not seen in over 15 years at least.

      And your right, traveling changes a person and it also gives them some perspective on the world. When you travel, it is like you leave a tiny piece of yourself everywhere.

  2. I’m home is Glasgow with my little brother
    I’m home in Cheshire with my parents
    And I even have a couch at my big brothers in London
    Sorry about your friend 🌸

    • 1stpeaksteve says:

      On occasion, I met someone who has never left the country and worse, only been to a few other states.

      I think travel is important to becoming a well rounded citizen. By traveling, I mean being in a foreign city and being amongst the people. Not on a boat shoveling gallons of food into your stomach.

Leave a Reply

