Derailing the Writing Train

 

two-cents-01

Hey! Its my bank account on Thursday!

Hey Wedgies! I love you all for following my blog and buying all of my SideWedge merchandise but sadly I have some awful news to tell you all. For the next month I will be gone. You see, we did plan a little quick getaway for my kids; Ethan, Jack, Jeremiah, and of course, Cornelius. Then Jeremiah came into the bedroom and forced us to change our plans of spending two days at Lake Pollywog.

I must explore the culture of Cambodia! I insist we leave this town post-haste!

So, on Tuesday we will be exploring this section of the world and we may venture over to Nepal to do some meditation with some of my friends who are monks.

See you soon and also buy my newest book, Wedgenomics for the Non-Book Smart! It’s a steal for only $35.00!

Okay…I am not going anywhere. And sadly, I am living a life more like the rest of us…a busy one with events with the family, overworking on the job front, and maybe an emergency or two to even things out. This brings us to the end of the day. The time of reflection to ponder on why we worked 2 extra hours and still have a lot more to do and also to ponder on why now we have to go back to work early the next day.

A Few Weeks Back

For several days, I would arrive home after working and trying to organize my kid’s birthday party and promptly fall asleep speaking to the other half on Skype. During the day, when I could not write at all, my mind was racing on several useful topics. When I got home, my mind was racing to shut down the power on my body! So no useful posts were ever produced.

Poncei

Ponce on birthday party day!

Then came the day of the boy wonders birthday party. We went to Ponce Inlet and once again during a run of great surf; we were greeted with small, dribblers. I guess it was perfect for the kids though but dad was looking sad not being able to pull into a few drainers over by the jetty.

So during a very chaotic week, one nice moment occurred that I had not felt in a long time. My sons step-sister, who I normally view as a rather chatty, attention-loving young lady (a brat!) wanted to learn to surf. I put it off and put it off until finally I gave in and off we went to tame the mini-tsunamis. The first few push ins and she was hooked and she even stood up a few times.

Lilyponce

Lilly charging the inlet!

For myself, it had been a while since I had given back to the sport that I loved and participated in coaching which is something I sorely miss at times.

The Inspector and the Storm.

This brings us up to the past few weeks and another trip of car repair sandwiched between school for the boy, and an upcoming inspection by corporate. So for days we were feverishly scrubbing dirt and grime off long forgotten corridors of the building with a miniscule staff that had long scheduled vacation days leaving us shorter than before.

Finally, the big boss said to just relieve Steve of all work duties to just have him concentrate on the inspections. So my days were filled with directing, inspecting, and lots of bending, lifting, hiding, and scrubbing.

So I live in Florida, which is a very special place on this earth. A long finger of land with two large bodies of water on each side which creates rather unique and potentially terrifying weather. So with a few days before the inspector was to arrive, the weather geeks on Weather Underground were already dancing around their computers and UK-MET maps about the potential for a tropical cyclone. Of course to make landfall during our inspection!

slideimage1

Welcome to Florida, Mr. Inspector!

So the inspection day came along with high winds and rain and we would clean something only to find it ruined. The process repeated and I choreographed a dance in which things would be shined and put back together to the glee of the inspector only to be dashed probably 45 minutes later.

Then came the results and a lot of e-mails congratulating us from corporate. We reached a 99% in cleanliness and a 100% for maintaining the brand standards.

So, I drove home and smiled as tropical storm force winds lashed my house.

Another week in paradise and finally a short break to finally post something on my site!

About 1stpeaksteve

Welcome to The Side Wedge! The Side Wedge is a product of the journey through life of Steve Zima. Former professional surfer, a writer, surf coach, and hospitality manager. This is a collection of travel tips, motivation, and stories from my past. Finally, I offer surf coaching through The Side Wedge. Please feel free to contact me with questions if you want to improve your performance today! Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Surf Banter, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

