Training Your Baby

Dbabe

Born to be a doctor??

Recently, I visited a friend who is a very prominent doctor. He gave me a tour of his field of expertise and was very proud of speaking of his accomplishments and of his practice.

We reached the nursery and he led me to a vast open window.

See them all! We are shaping the world right here!

I peered into the first rows and saw them. Babies in scrubs. Some studying medical charts.

And those? I pointed to the middle section.

See the wrenches and other tools? Naturals! All of them! Those are baby mechanics.

I smiled.

Seeing the baby lawyers directing the baby executives was rather entertaining. All of these children! All ready to take on their natural roles in this society.

dbagbaby

I was born with a plastic wrench in my mouth!

WRONG!!!!

No person is the same. Some might have a disposition or physical condition that might not make them the best fit for a certain job. For example, having extremely poor vision might not make for the best airline pilot but beyond this, we are not born as a doctor, a maid, or a mechanic. We train ourselves to learn the skills and knowledge to become a doctor, a maid, or a mechanic.

I AM BAD AT _____________.

My whole younger life I was plagued by a fixed-growth mindset. I am not a math person. I am not good at basketball. I hate public speaking.

Then I reached College and in front of me was some hurdles. One being math. So I had a choice and that was to learn to do math or give up. The University was not going to change their policies for me.

So for the first time, I had to find a tutor. I had to fail and try harder. Finally, I passed. Passing taught me that indeed I could do it if I put in the effort. Just as I begun to take part in public speaking and other activities that I did not care for. Some things I still did not care for but I did see that it was not as bad as I thought before. You do not have to like everything.

When I was brought into my current company, I was part of a segment of the hotel industry that I had no real interest in and that is Housekeeping and more specifically; that would be Laundry. I did not mind checking the rooms…I have the skill set to do this; I really was not a fan of the making the beds and the linen involved.

After a while, I saddled up to the folding table and asked to be shown how to fold the towels and wash cloths. Soon I was jumping in when needed. The whole time I thought to myself that folding is way better than sorting at least. Sorting seemed lame. As time went by, I was sorting. As of late, I have been sorting more than folding because I realized it is a critical task. Now it is no big deal to me at all. The reason was because I stepped up to learn. I see it as a new skill that I can use in the future.

So think about your views on learning and what you do not like doing. Changing you mindset can give you a whole different perspective and improve your confidence when change comes knocking on your door.

passionate-about-learning.jpg

 

 

 

About 1stpeaksteve

Welcome to The Side Wedge! The Side Wedge is a product of the journey through life of Steve Zima. Former professional surfer, a writer, surf coach, and hospitality manager. This is a collection of travel tips, motivation, and stories from my past. Finally, I offer surf coaching through The Side Wedge. Please feel free to contact me with questions if you want to improve your performance today! Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Helpful Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Training Your Baby

  1. It’s even worse when you’re told frequently you’re not very good at that _______ by a teacher, I try a different teacher to make sure I can do things that the one other person thinks I can’t.

    • 1stpeaksteve says:

      That is something a teacher should never say! Their job is to guide you in learning a new process. It is up to the student to put in the correct amount of effort to learn it!

      I would have moved on too!

Leave a Reply

