Hermine Visits Chipotle

My son and I were enjoying our tacos at Chipotle when the alert went off.

Lightning has been detected within 5 miles of your location.

The sun shone brightly. Within a few minutes the horizon showed a wall of approaching black. Then came the cracks of lightning and the accompanying booms of thunder.

Quickly I opened the weather app and saw a sight that I have not seen in ages.

wsi_snapshot.png

A pinwheel of reds, greens, and yellows.

Thus began a few days of  mild weather and tropical Armageddon.

Now a week later, we can always look back and view the week with a different set of eyes.

Last week was a mix of chaos, reflections, and a chance to shut some doors. For the United States, this storm made landfall during our last hurrah of the summer which is Labor Day weekend. The surf pulsed in with the mullet and there were a few exceedingly bad shark bites at my local beach.

So let us break down a few subjects:

  • The surf. Once again this storm took a path that caused me to miss what small window of good surf there was. I ventured out in a confused sea close to work one evening and met a sea of currents, chop, and muddling rookies on WaveStorm boards that set themselves up in the perfect way to block any good rides.
  • Work. Summer was not kind to us. We had to deal with an employee that seemingly was fishing for a lawsuit and constantly was having problems. We also had a supply problem that hindered my ability to do my complete job. So the soggy ending to our summer was bad for attendance but nice for the weary and down trodden.
  • My birthday! Had to work but…who cares! It is your birthday! At my old age, I find it wonderful to read the posts on Facebook from my friends scattered around the world. It is nice to see people take time out of their day to give you well wishes.
  • Lost chances. Imagine someone walks up to you and says that they will give you an opportunity. If you have $400 dollars, they will give you $10,000 dollars but you have a window of ten minutes. You run to the teller machine for the bank and you have $350.00! The man will not bargain. All or nothing. You would feel lame when it all fell through and you would question why you did not have more than $350 in the bank.

 

Well, I had a few things that did not go my way. I wakesurf and there was a simple contest to win a sponsorship. Due to work, I just could not find the time to get out on the water, let alone film and edit a video. So I let that one go by me.

Then I was also accepted to attend an event involving wave pools. It would have been a wonderful opportunity for me to do some mingling and maybe change course in my employment. Then I found out it came with a rather pricey (for me) entrance fee which put me out of the running again.

So this has been things. Along with another pricey car breakdown a month back and a car accident in a rental car that thankfully I was not hurt in. The crazy thing was that I was driving my rental to the shop to pick up my car when a guy whipped an illegal U-turn and plowed straight into the front of the car. A shocker to say the least!

But I am still staying positive and looking to the future!

 

 

About 1stpeaksteve

Welcome to The Side Wedge! The Side Wedge is a product of the journey through life of Steve Zima. Former professional surfer, a writer, surf coach, and hospitality manager. This is a collection of travel tips, motivation, and stories from my past. Finally, I offer surf coaching through The Side Wedge. Please feel free to contact me with questions if you want to improve your performance today! Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Surf Banter and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

