My Little Project – More Info

So I am by no means an expert in digital editing or production work so I am just toying around with my el cheapo software. So what you are watching is by no means what will come out later. I just had a few movies digitized and pulled a few rides from the film.

I also have a lot of items waiting to be transferred. VHS format and Super 8.

So basically what you are watching is some surfing from around 1983 to 1984. The problem with some of the rides on my film was that I am on a giant twin fin board. I had broken my board days before and borrowed a board from former pro surfer and super sales rep., Greg Taylor. Greg, if you ever meet him, stands around 6 foot 3. I, at 17, stood around 5 foot 8 and weighed about 140 pounds. So I was having a rough time of it.

The surfing is being done at Cocoa Beach Pier in the beginning with myself and John Holeman and a few days later it was myself and Kelly Slater at the pier and it was much smaller. The last part was me surfing at The Bank which is a few peaks south of R.C.s in Satellite Beach.

So yes, there will be more to come!

 

About 1stpeaksteve

Welcome to The Side Wedge! The Side Wedge is a product of the journey through life of Steve Zima. Former professional surfer, a writer, surf coach, and hospitality manager. This is a collection of travel tips, motivation, and stories from my past. Finally, I offer surf coaching through The Side Wedge. Please feel free to contact me with questions if you want to improve your performance today! Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Surf Banter and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Little Project – More Info

  1. surfbella says:

    Steve this is a brilliant peek into the past and the music goes with it so well. Looking forward to seeing more . Hope alls well with you

    • 1stpeaksteve says:

      You know, things are not perfect but I feel it is on the way upwards. I am surfing a bit more and the rest is up to me to make happen one way or another!

      I am glad you liked it. Like I posted, it was just pulling a couple rides from quite a few duds and making it work.

      Funny seeing Kelly as a little boy, huh??

      Well, there is better footage to come… I also hope you are doing great too!

Leave a Reply

