Season of Giving

xmast

 

The web is loaded with great people with huge stories! I overcame despair and misery and you can too by following my steps!

Well, read my story and understand that I desire to be one of those people. The reality is that this holiday season once again will be a season of struggle. In fact, the goals and stakes are far greater than normal for me.

Once, I was in a far different place and space. I was giving but also complacent. I had a job that was magical yet I viewed it as being mundane. In fact, I picked people for an event and it sometimes lead to them crying and hugging me. Yet, I was more concerned with attendance, numbers, and scores.

One day after a show, we had to clear out the people to clean to and to prepare the set for the next one. As I was coming to a seat, I came across a young couple. An ordinary couple with the wife in a wheelchair. They were speaking loudly and the woman was on the verge of tears. I approached them and calmly informed them it was time to close the area. The lady looked dejected.

I asked what was wrong and they told me that they had visited our sister park but due to the husbands physical issues he could not help his wife do the things she dreamed about doing there because it would have required him to be able to move her while she was out of the wheelchair.

As I soaked in their words, my mind began to race because I knew that out of anyone; I could do something. So I asked them to stay seated and went and made a few calls and they ending up getting a backstage tour.

Later, they thanked me profusely and the lady hugged me. She looked up through tear soaked eyes and promised me should write the best letter ever about what I had to done to help them.

WOW!!!

Then the days went by…and nothing. No letter. No thanks.

A few months passed and I spoke to another employee who was mad. She had went way out of her way to help some people and in the end they treated her like dirt. Then I told her my story to one up hers. She listened and then said that after that she bets that I would never do that again.

I thought about the lady. Her words and how she could barely contain her emotions.

You know…I would do it again. I did it because it was the right thing to do for them and it did not require a payback.

Years later I was unemployed and desperately searching for a new focus. At first, I was just sending out resumes. But as time went on and desperation began to set in, I began to attend seminars and job fairs. At one event, I met a group called Christian Help that ran a food pantry and also served the community by coaching people that were trying to start over.

During one of these seminars, we spoke about doing what gives us happiness and also learning what your strengths are. I began to think about people that I helped. Employees, interns, and of course guests like the couple. I also thought about my old job and the magic it brought to people. I was lucky to have had such a job because many do not.

This lead to a stint of 3 years as a counselor in the computer lab. During this time, I was trying to recover from the process of being unemployed myself. I worked for free before my long day at work in the opposite direction of my house. On paper something that seemed to be counter-productive. Yet this position helped in ways that money could not.

Helping and encouraging fueled my own battery.

That was because my job was not where I wanted to be. So on nights when I was unhappy about the position. Working hours where no one could see my performance; I often just was thankful to be working and I thought that eventually someone would notice what I was doing.

I want to start by saying the customer service we received at this hotel is probably the BEST we have ever had. From the time we checked in until now, two months after our trip, everyone has been first class! This company is lucky to have great employees like Steven Zima working for them.. Now on to the resort. This place is a great place to visit if you are traveling with a family or just as a couple. They have two separate buildings one ocean front that is a bit quieter or the main building that is attached to all the family fun.. this place truly was amazing! It exceeded our expectations by far and we will be returning to stay again..

 

This came from a family that stayed with us and was posted on Trip Advisor.

I was presented with an event that was a big bummer for the family and although I did not cause the issue; I helped them out. Just seeing the family happy and thanking me was good enough. Then they sent me an e-mail and later this appeared. What will I probably get from this? Probably nothing from my company. I do win the knowledge that I am impacting people. That is good enough!

We all have the ability to help someone else in some way. Further more, it will cost you nothing. As does recognizing someone for something good they did to help you or for going the extra mile.

My Christmas will not be easy but getting through it will be fuel to help me overcome other obstacles.

And who knows, with some hard work and a good positive manner; maybe some actions might lead the way to me writing my own success posts. Minus the pay to be a winner program!

 

About 1stpeaksteve

Welcome to The Side Wedge! The Side Wedge is a product of the journey through life of Steve Zima. Former professional surfer, a writer, surf coach, and hospitality manager. This is a collection of travel tips, motivation, and stories from my past. Finally, I offer surf coaching through The Side Wedge. Please feel free to contact me with questions if you want to improve your performance today! Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Helpful Stuff and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

