Slow Ride…Take it Easy!

sloppy3

Recently I found a few old shots of me surfing on a day that even by Florida standards one would consider miserable. Yet, there are a few take aways from these sad specimens.

From the shot above, one can clearly see the momentum I am carrying as I take the high line over the teeny tiny section. You can also see the dribbler in the background and you can get a good picture of the awful surf I am taking care of business in.

The Need for Speed!

I have never been a person struggling to get down the line. In fact, my surfing has been about slowing down my surfing as to not blow through sections without getting a turn in. Or when wakesurfing, not turning and then plowing into the back of the boat.

3sloppy4

When you have speed, you can snap turns off the most dismal sections.

sloppy6

And those awful days can be enough to wet your surfing appetite.

During the course of the existence of this literary masterpiece of a website; I have written some posts that were vital to a surfer such as The Simple Shark Test Made Easy and of course my most popular post which just featured a picture of a closed sign for a store. But this one really is a good one for any surfer who is more mortal than Mick Fanning.

Take the High Road

And please, feel free to dig about and enjoy the old blurry pictures and ridiculous stories along with posts that contain some great hints for packing surfboards down to doing turns correctly.

Or…marvel at a picture of a closed sign.

Still has thousands of searches!

About 1stpeaksteve

Welcome to The Side Wedge! The Side Wedge is a product of the journey through life of Steve Zima. Former professional surfer, a writer, surf coach, and hospitality manager. This is a collection of travel tips, motivation, and stories from my past. Finally, I offer surf coaching through The Side Wedge. Please feel free to contact me with questions if you want to improve your performance today! Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Helpful Stuff, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

