Thankful That I Still Got Stoke!

ps_2013_11_08___13_37_42

First off, what do myself, Jason Apprecio, Chris Makris, and Jimmy Parker all have in common?

We were all pro surfers. Traveling together and not always getting the win or the big cash check. Just guys trying to fulfill their dreams. And, there are lots of us out there scattered in various countries around the world.

As life moves forward, we have to make an exit and transition onward. Some of us do great and others for what I have seen tend to struggle with the changes that come with gaining a family or being employed outside of the surfing bubble.

Personally, I dislike people that brag and try to one up people so it is weird to be in a situation in which you want to tell people your stories but you also want them the others to not feel like you are trying to steal their thunder. So, I try to spare people from a constant barrage of my stories unless they really want to know and in my case, my stories are a bit more outlandish than most.

So to up the cringe factor for me(It is odd putting your thoughts out to the world), I recently had a very wonderful opportunity to answer some questions about my experiences and things today and the struggle we all must face as adults in balancing our lives. And as I gave this interview, I faced even more pressures from work and I had to step up and take my own advice. My answer was to tackle a few issues that have been real time killers for me to get some of my life back!!

So thanks to Kirsty Hill for the support! You can check out her site to see how her adventures are going in the sport of surfing here in the tropical waters of the U.K.:

Kernow Surf Girl

And to read the article about my thoughts on finding balance here at Still Got Stoke. Check out their other articles which give perspective on a variety of subjects such as advice from older athletes and the perspectives of female athletes. Good stuff!

Steve at Still Got Stoke

 

About 1stpeaksteve

Welcome to The Side Wedge! The Side Wedge is a product of the journey through life of Steve Zima. Former professional surfer, a writer, surf coach, and hospitality manager. This is a collection of travel tips, motivation, and stories from my past. Finally, I offer surf coaching through The Side Wedge. Please feel free to contact me with questions if you want to improve your performance today! Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Helpful Stuff, Surf Banter, Surf Contests, Surf Training and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Thankful That I Still Got Stoke!

  1. surfbella says:

    A great read Steve, you know Kirsty and I met through our blogs when we were both landlocked a few years back and we realised we both followed you. Such a small world our community. Stay stoked mate, hope you are well x

    • 1stpeaksteve says:

      You know, it is amazing how people can connect through sites or forums. The world truly is more open than in the past. Heck, I hope to one day pop up to surf around Cornwall and then to meet some friends up in Scotland.
      I also hope you are doing well! Work has been nuts but what is new. Surfing tomorrow though.

      Talofa!

  2. emptynestman says:

    Nice! Curating for my tribe.

  3. Great to interview you Steve. A real privilege and thanks for the link. Hope you’ve caught some good waves lately!

    • 1stpeaksteve says:

      Work has not been ideal the past few years but a personnel change seems to be turning things around. So it is has been a once a week surf affair for me.

      Also, glad to help you with the interview. I hope this helps you find more opportunities down the road!

Leave a Reply

