Noise to Note! – 140

Noise to Note!

A while back, I saw that one of the great early punk bands was coming into town on their 40th Anniversary Tour. I watched some videos and saw some from several years back and the performances were spotty. Their famous guitarist had to stop touring and they seemed to be not at 100%.

Then I saw a more recent video. I loved what one of the singers was saying about life. I also noticed her weight gain and more negatives were coming into my mind. But at the end, the interviewer took the singer out into a garden area and began to play a song. Her voice was better than ever. In fact, it was impressive.

Then I read some reviews from previous dates and they all said the same thing – This band was firing on all cylinders.

I bought a ticket and did not know any friends who were going.

So I walked into the club alone and within a minute found some old friends. I was stoked!

And the performance?

If I told you I watched a band comprised of 60 year olds and the guitarist had to sit in a chair the whole show time; one would only imagine how awful it was.

Wrong!

They played with an energy that was impossible not to notice. The guitar playing was top-notch and the chemistry was back.

The band was X. Their performance of I See Red was more frantic than the studio version and yet not out of control. It was a performance that 40 years of playing together can only create.

X – I See Red

Sometimes, you just have to take a chance. More than likely, you can deal with whatever happens.

About 1stpeaksteve

Welcome to The Side Wedge! The Side Wedge is a product of the journey through life of Steve Zima. Former professional surfer, a writer, surf coach, and hospitality manager. This is a collection of travel tips, motivation, and stories from my past. Finally, I offer surf coaching through The Side Wedge. Please feel free to contact me with questions if you want to improve your performance today! Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

